• Home
  • Presidential Photographs collection

Presidential Photographs collection

Brigham Young University has been guided by twelve men over the course of its existence:

  • Warren N. Dusenberry, 1875-1876
  • Karl G. Maeser, 1876-1892
  • Benjamin Cluff, Jr., 1892-1903
  • George H. Brimhall, 1904-1921
  • Franklin S. Harris, 1921-1945
  • Howard S. McDonald, 1945-1949
  • Ernest L. Wilkinson, 1951-1971
  • Dallin H. Oaks, 1971-1980
  • Jeffrey R. Holland, 1980-1989
  • Rex E. Lee, 1989-1996
  • Merrill J. Bateman, 1996-2003
  • Cecil O. Samuelson, 2003-present
  • It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words and the University Archives holds a collection of priceless photographs of these men. The collection Brigham Young University Presidential photographs (UA 946) contains photographs of the presidents of Brigham Young University from 1875 to the present. The photographs are mainly of the presidents but the collection includes some images of their families, homes, offices, and colleagues. Below are a few sample images:

    Karl G. Maeser, second principal of Brigham Young Academy, served from 1876-1892.

    Howard S. McDonald, sixth president of Brigham Young University.

    Jeffrey R. Holland, ninth president of Brigham Young University.

    These photographs and more can be accessed in the L. Tom Perry Special Collections reading room (1130 HBLL) in the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University.

    If you would like to know more about the history of Brigham Young University, please contact the University Archivist at (801) 422-5821 or gordon_daines@byu.edu.

Recent Posts